ALA Youth Media Awards for 2014 Announced

John Newbery Medal:
“Flora & Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures,” written by Kate DiCamillo

Newbery Honor Books:
“Doll Bones,” written by Holly Black
“The Year of Billy Miller,” written by Kevin Henkes
“One Came Home,” written by Amy Timberlake
“Paperboy,” written by Vince Vawter

Randolph Caldecott Medal:
“Locomotive,” illustrated by Brian Floca

Caldecott Honor Books:
“Journey,” written and illustrated by Aaron Becker
“Flora and the Flamingo,” written and illustrated by Molly Idle
“Mr. Wuffles!” written and illustrated by David Wiesner

Coretta Scott King (Author) Book Award:
“P.S. Be Eleven,” written by Rita Williams-Garcia

King Author Honor Books:
“March: Book One,” written by John Lewis and Andrew Aydin
“Darius & Twig,” written by Walter Dean Myers
“Words with Wings,” written by Nikki Grimes

Coretta Scott King (Illustrator) Book Award:
“Knock Knock: My Dad’s Dream for Me,” illustrated by Bryan Collier and written by Daniel Beaty

King Illustrator Honor Book:
“Nelson Mandela,” illustrated and written by Kadir Nelson

Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Award:
“When the Beat Was Born: DJ Kool Herc and the Creation of Hip Hop,” illustrated by Theodore Taylor III

Coretta Scott King – Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement:
Authors Patricia and Researcher Fredrick McKissack are the winners of the Coretta Scott King – Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement.

Michael L. Printz Award:
“Midwinterblood,” written by Marcus Sedgwick

Printz Honor Books:
“Eleanor & Park,” written by Rainbow Rowell
“Kingdom of Little Wounds,” written by Susann Cokal
“Maggot Moon,” written by Sally Gardner
“Navigating Early,” written by Clare Vanderpool

Schneider Family Book Award (artistic expression of the disability experience):
Children (ages 1-10): “A Splash of Red: The Life and Art of Horace Pippin,” written by Jen Bryant, illustrated by Melissa Sweet
Middle School (ages 11-13): “Handbook for Dragon Slayers,” written by Merrie
Teen (ages 13-18): “Rose under Fire,” written by Elizabeth Wein

Alex Awards for the 10 best adult books that appeal to teen audiences:
“Brewster,” written by Mark Slouka
“The Death of Bees,” written by Lisa O’Donnell
“Golden Boy: A Novel,” written by Abigail Tarttelin
“Help for the Haunted,” written by John Searles
“Lexicon: A Novel,” written by Max Barry
“Lives of Tao,” written by Wesley Chu
“Mother, Mother: A Novel,” written by Koren Zailckas
“Relish,” written by Lucy Knisley
“The Sea of Tranquility: A Novel,” written by Katja Millay
“The Universe Versus Alex Woods,” written by Gavin Extence

Andrew Carnegie Medal for excellence in children’s video:
“Bink & Gollie: Two for One”
Margaret A. Edwards Award for lifetime achievement in writing for young adults:
Markus Zusak: his books include: “The Book Thief” and “I Am the Messenger,” and “Getting the Girl” and “Fighting Ruben Wolfe.”

May Hill Arbuthnot Honor Lecture Award:
Brian Selznick will deliver the 2015 lecture.

Mildred L. Batchelder Award:
“Mister Orange” written by Truus Matti, translated by Laura Watkinson

Batchelder Honor Books:
“The Bathing Costume or the Worst Vacation of My Life,” written by Charlotte Moundlic, illustrated by Olivier Tallec, translated by Claudia Zoe Bedrick,
“My Father’s Arms Are a Boat,” written by Stein Erik Lunde, illustrated by Øyvind Torseter, translated by Kari Dickson
“The War Within These Walls,” written by Aline Sax, illustrated by Caryl Strzelecki, translated by Laura Watkinson

Odyssey Award for best audiobook:
“Scowler,” written by Daniel Kraus and narrated by Kirby Heyborne.

Odyssey Honor Recordings:
“Better Nate Than Ever,” written and narrated by Tim Federle
“Creepy Carrots!” written by Aaron Reynolds
“Eleanor & Park,” written by Rainbow Rowell, and narrated by Rebecca Lowman and Sunil Malhotra
“Matilda,” written by Roald Dahl, and narrated by Kate Winslet.

Pura Belpré (Illustrator) Award:
“Niño Wrestles the World,” illustrated by Yuyi Morales

Belpré Illustrator Honor Books:
“Maria Had a Little Llama / María Tenía una Llamita,” illustrated and written by Angela Dominguez
“Tito Puente: Mambo King / Rey del Mambo,” illustrated by Rafael López, written by Monica Brown
“Pancho Rabbit and the Coyote: A Migrant’s Tale,” illustrated and written by Duncan Tonatiuh

Pura Belpré (Author) Award:
“Yaqui Delgado Wants to Kick Your Ass,” written by Meg Medina

Belpré Author Honor Books:
“The Lightning Dreamer: Cuba’s Greatest Abolitionist,” written by Margarita Engle
“The Living,” written by Matt de la Peña
“Pancho Rabbit and the Coyote: A Migrant’s Tale,” written and illustrated by Duncan Tonatiuh

Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Award:
“Parrots over Puerto Rico,” written by Susan L. Roth and Cindy Trumbore, and illustrated by Susan L. Roth

Sibert Honor Books:
“A Splash of Red: The Life and Art of Horace Pippin,” written by Jen Bryant, illustrated by Melissa Sweet
“Look Up! Bird-Watching in Your Own Backyard,” written and illustrated by Annette LeBlanc Cate
“Locomotive,” written and illustrated by Brian Floca
“The Mad Potter: George E. Ohr, Eccentric Genius,” written by Jan Greenberg and Sandra Jordan

Stonewall Book Award (Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Children’s & Young Adult Literature Award for works of exceptional merit for children or teens relating to the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender experience):
“Fat Angie,” written by e. E. Charlton-Trujillo

Honor Books:
“Better Nate Than Ever,” written by Tim Federle
“Branded by the Pink Triangle,” written by Ken Setterington
“Two Boys Kissing,” written by David Levithan

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award (Easy Readers):
“The Watermelon Seed,” written and illustrated by Greg Pizzoli

Geisel Honor Books:
“Ball,” written and illustrated by Mary Sullivan
“A Big Guy Took My Ball!” written and illustrated by Mo Willems
“Penny and Her Marble,” written and illustrated by Kevin Henkes

William C. Morris Award (for a debut book by a 1st-time author for teens):
“Charm & Strange,” written by Stephanie Kuehn

“Sex & Violence,” written by Carrie Mesrobian
“Dr. Bird’s Advice for Sad Poets,” written by Evan Roskos
“Belle Epoque,” written by Elizabeth Ross
“In the Shadow of Blackbirds,” written by Cat Winters

YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults:
“The Nazi Hunters: How a Team of Spies and Survivors Captured the World’s Most Notorious Nazi,” written by Neal Bascomb

“Go: A Kidd’s Guide to Graphic Design,” written by Chip Kidd
“Imprisoned: The Betrayal of Japanese Americans During World War II,” written by Martin W. Sandler
“Courage Has No Color: The True Story of the Triple Nickles, America’s First Black Paratroopers,” written by Tanya Lee Stone
“The President Has Been Shot! The Assassination of John F. Kennedy,” written by James L. Swanson

For more information on the ALA youth media awards and notables, please visit .

Permanent link to this article:

error: Content is protected !!